EBM News
EBM News

Supreme Court refers Sabarimala case to seven-judge bench

The Sabarimala case was referred to a larger bench of seven judges by the Supreme Court in a majority judgment on Thursday.

The judges in favour were Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Indu Malhotra and AM Khanwilkar. Justice RF Nariman and DY Chandrachud dissented from the majority judgment.

The September 28, 2018 judgment of the Supreme Court, which had lifted the ban that prevented women and girls between the age of 10 to 50 from entering the Sabarimala Temple, was not stayed by the apex court today.

Thus the SC’s earlier order of allowing women into the temple will remain in force till a seven-judge bench hears the matter afresh and gives its ruling. This bench has to be constituted by the Chief Justice designate SA Bobde.